De Soto Tourism Commission Meeting Minutes June 19, 2023

Members Present: Kari Beeman, Ryan Beeman, Carrie Brudos, Pamela Cotant, Gary Mulford, Josh Petzel, Mitch Schiffer

- => The Commission By-Laws Draft dated 5-25-2023 was reviewed. A motion to adopt the By-Laws was made by J. Petzel, motion seconded by R. Beeman and adopted by a unanimous vote.
- => A general overview of the financial tools and procedures that the Treasurer will be implementing was given by C. Brudos. Various aspects of the procedures were discussed. Many of the procedures used for the Village will also be used to manage the Commission finances.
- => The Treasurer will receive an annual stipend for performing all Commission financial duties. The Commission will pay 70% and De Soto Village will pay 30% of the stipend. The amount of the Treasurer stipend is yet to be determined.
- => A general discussion of steps necessary to implement the Room Tax collection process was held.
- => G. Mulford and K. Beeman will collaborate to compose a draft De Soto Lodging Roster.
- => G. Mulford will use the Ferryville Room Tax Filing Form as a model to construct a draft of the De Soto Room Tax Filing Form.
- => A discussion of what rate the Room Tax should be set to was held. It was tabled for further consideration.
- => G. Mulford will invite Drew Nussbaum, State of WI Regional Tourism Specialist, to attend the next meeting for consultation on aspects of operation of the Commission.
- => Regular meetings will be held the Third Monday of the Month. The next meeting being Monday, July 17.