De Soto Tourism Commission Meeting Minutes De Soto Community Center January 22, 2024 at 7:00 pm

Members Present: Ryan Beeman, Kari Beeman, Mitchell Schiffer, Joshua Petzel. Pamela Cotant-absent Attending: Carrie Brudos, Gary Mulford, Janice Vanevenhoven and Jennifer Swiggum.

=> De Soto Tourism Commission Partnership. Gary Mulford explained our tourism commission, our plan to promote tourism, and how it works, to Town of Wheatland representatives: Janice Vanevenhoven and Jennifer Swiggum.

=>Certification of Commission Members from Wheatland. Motion made by Joshua Petzel, seconded by Mitchell Schiffer to accept Janice Vanevenhoven and Jennifer Swiggum as De Soto Tourism Commission members. Motion carried.

=>Amendment to De Soto Room Tax Ordinance #47. The Town of Wheatland has already passed their ordinance for the tourism commission with the amendments included. De Soto Village Board will pass their amended Ordinance #47 on February 6, 2024.

=> Proposed updates to the Tourism Commission By-Laws. Gary Mulford read the proposed updates to the Tourism Commission By-Laws, Articles I through X.

=> Discuss an Action Plan to Institute the Wheatland Lodging Units Room Tax. A blanket announcement will me made. The roster will be finalized with addresses and merging the De Soto list and Wheatland list.

=>Review of Room Tax billing and collection concerns. There are some concerns with VRBO and AIRBNB billing the local tax to its customers.

=> No Cost Promotion Activities and Advertisements. There was a brief discussion on ways to promote our area at little to no cost.

=>Other topics. Joshua Petzel made a generous donation of \$500.00 from the pizza of the month sales in December 2023.

The next meeting will be February 26 at 7 pm. Motion made by Mitchell Schiffer, seconded by Janice Vanevenhoven to adjourn the meeting. Motion carried.